Cathedral of St. Patrick
The Romanesque Renaissance-style Cathedral of St. Patrick was completed on March 1, 1907, its main altar patterned after Bernini’s in the Blessed Sacrament Chapel at St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome. The extant wainscot is of oriental marble crowned with Conemora green marble, and carved figures of the original pulpit were styled after a fresco in the Roman Catacombs to represent the four evangelists. During renovations in 1950 and 1975, the liturgical layout was modified and the marble altar and furnishings were simplified or replaced. Pendentive frescoes of Saints Jerome, Augustine, Gregory, and Ambrose (the Fathers of the Church) were added at that time.
As part of the 2006-07 renewal of the Cathedral interior, EverGreene provided a unique combination of conservation, restoration, and new design that was both sympathetic to the original and updated for current sensibilities and liturgical norms. New sanctuary elements including the reredos, apse niche traceries, and furnishings were inspired by the lost originals. The decoration within the leftmost niche serves an additional purpose of covering the mechanical work behind it. The evangelist murals on the apsidal wall are new designs that spring from the evangelist figures that had originally been sculpted on the pulpit. EverGreene artists restored the interior surfaces of the historic structure, including flat and ornamental plaster, decorative finishes, fine arts conservation, scagliola restoration, marble cleaning, and wood refinishing.
General Contractor: Conewago Enterprises, Inc.
Liturgical Consultant: Denis McNamara, Ph.D., The Liturgical Institute