Great Overland Train Station
Designed by renowned architect Gilbert Stanley Underwood, this Union Pacific passenger station opened in 1927 and was reported to be one of the finest passenger stations on the line. Abandoned in 1988 and damaged by a fire in 1992.
Over seven month period in 2003, EverGreene craftspeople restored 11,000 square feet of plaster on the 34-foot-high ceilings in the station’s Great Hall and East Gallery. Ornamental plaster restoration included the extensive sculpting, fabrication and installation to replicate the original plaster which had been destroyed, as well as the designing, drawing, sculpting, fabricating and installation of several new GRG door pediments. All the ornamental plaster surrounding the main entrance was sculpted and fabricated to replicate the design of the original, lost, work.
The building now serves as a museum celebrating Topeka’s history as well as a special event and meeting venue where visitors can learn about area railroads including the Santa Fe/BNSF, Union Pacific, Rock Island, Missouri Pacific and Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad.